CALL1-800-222-TIPS (8477)
Submit A TipFollow Up


Crime Stoppers of Hamilton is an International and Provincial award winning program. The success of the program is a direct result of the people involved and committed to the Crime Stoppers Program and its Philosophy. To acknowledge the contributions of our citizens we annually present the following awards.

The Bill Sturrup Media Recognition Award

In 2000, Crime Stoppers of Hamilton Inc. presented a new award to recognize outstanding contributions to the program by local media personnel at its annual awards ceremony. The Board of Directors instituted the award to recognize the efforts of local media partners in addition to awards already presented annually to community and police partners. The addition of the media award compliments the tripartite partnership that is the foundation of the Crime Stoppers program: Police, Media, and the Community. The award has been named the “Bill Sturrup Media Recognition Award” in honour of Bill Sturrup’s contributions to Crime Stoppers of Hamilton since the program started in 1983. Mr. Sturrup was a regular Master of Ceremonies at Crime Stoppers events including the annual appreciation night where the award was presented. He was a local media icon and had been an avid Crime Stoppers supporter on air and off.

Recent Bill Sturrup Media Award Winners:

2015 – KX94.7
2014 – CHCH TV
2013 – Darrin Laidman, Colleen Rusholm, Samantha Payne -FreshFM95.3
2012 – KX 94.7
2011 – Mike Fortune, Cable 14 & Source Media
2010 – n/a
2009 – Jay McQueen
2008 – Auto Trader

The Colin Millar Award

The Colin Millar Award was first presented in 2006. Colin is a retired Chief of Police of the Hamilton-Wentworth Police Service and was partly responsible for developing the program in Hamilton in 1983. A long time supporter of not only Crime Stoppers but other charitable and volunteer organizations, Colin is pleased to allow his name to be used for this award. The award is presented to either sworn or civilian members of the Hamilton Police Service who have volunteered their time to helping not only Crime Stoppers, but other organizations throughout the year.

Recent Colin Millar Award Winners

2015 – n/a
2014 – n/a
2013 – Steven Bull and Jeffrey Robinson
2012 – Open
2011 – Detective Constable Peter Weisner
2010 – Constable Steven Welton
2009 – n/a
2008 – Myra James

The Gordon V. Torrance Award:

The Gordon V. Torrance Award was initiated in 1985 to recognize and show appreciation to the Officers of the Hamilton Police Service for their contributions to the Crime Stoppers program. Past Chief Gordon Torrance was instrumental in bringing Crime Stoppers to Hamilton. His support of the Crime Stoppers program was invaluable. Like the man it honours, THE GORDON V. TORRANCE AWARD exemplifies the excellent work of Police Officers who have utilized Crime Stoppers to the fullest advantage. The recognition comes from the officers’ use of Crime Stoppers information to its fullest, resulting in arrests of dangerous persons, recoveries of stolen property or the seizure of illicit drugs. The recipient or recipients have been presented with the award at the Crime Stoppers Appreciation night by Supt. Ken Bond, who is the late Mr.Torrance’s son-in-law. A plaque with their recipients’ names will be displayed in Central Police Station outside the Crime Stoppers office.

Recent Gordon V. Torrance Award Winners:  

2015 – Division 3
2014 – Division 2 Crime Managers
2013 – 
 Homicide Unit: Matt Kavanaugh, Greg Jackson, Greg Rodzoniak, Andrea Richard, Jason Cattle, John Telepakis
2012 – Vice and Drug Unit
 2011 – The Members of Division 2 HEAT Unit
2010 – Staff Sargent Paul Downey
2009 – Dwayne Barnes and Dave Alchin
2008 – Matt Kavanagh and Chris Abbott

The Reg Whynnot Award

The Reginald J. Whynott award was initiated in 1994 to recognize and show appreciation to individuals from the Hamilton community for outstanding service and dedication to Crime Stoppers of Hamilton Inc. Reg Whynott was a founding member of Crime Stoppers of Hamilton Inc. In 1983, he helped bring the organization to this region during his tenure as Executive Director of the Hamilton District Chamber of Commerce. When Reg became Regional Chairman of Hamilton in 1988, he continued his involvement with Crime Stoppers at local, national and international levels. He was president of Crime Stoppers international from 1989 to 1991, and then served 2 years as past president.

Recent Reginald Whynnot Award Winners:

2015 – Sodexo
2014 – Columbia International College
2013 – Walt Durajilja – Big B. Comics
2012 – Wendy and Gordon Downing
2011 – Tim Hogarth – President and CEO of Pioneer  Petroleum
2010 – Paul Crossman, Owner of Putney’s Brake &  Alignment Service
2009 – Peter Martin
2008 – Peter Abi Rashed